The picturesque church located on the Peterbühl hill at Fié is probably the oldest church of the Alpe di Siusi.
The picturesque St. Peter by the Hill Church (St. Peter am Bichl, in German), which reveals that the church has been constructed on a little hill, is located in the west of the centre of Fiè allo Sciliar (Völs am Schlern). It has first been mentioned in 1371. However, it is presumed that the nave, the apsis and parts of the steeple date back to the 12th or 13th century.
The Romanesque style is still recognizable today. In 1498 the building has been refurbished and in the course of these works the ribbed vault and the southern sandstone church portal have been added. Also the emblem of the Thun and Firmian families as well as the crossed St. Peter key have been established. The beautiful late Gothic winged altar has probably been donated in 1510, when the works were brought to an end. After a fire in 1862 the steeple has been damaged and had to be covered with a new half-hipped roof.
By the way: the Peterbühl hill - where the church stands - has been inhabited since the Bronze Age. The archaeological findings as well as the late Gothic winged altar from the St. Peter by the Hill Church are on display at the Parish Museum and Museum of Archeology of Fiè.
not open to the public