Fiè di Sotto
The main village of Fiè is over-towered by the steeple of the Assunta parish church.
Fiè di Sotto is the centre of the municipality of Fiè allo Sciliar. The village square, the parish church as well as the cultural hall and town hall of Fiè are located in this village. Fiè di Sotto boasts some 500 inhabitants and is located at 870 m asl between the villages of Fiè di Sopra and Peterbuehel, forming the municipality of Fiè allo Sciliar. The village is surrounded by the promenade “Völser Rundweg“ trail.
The Assumption parish church (Chiesa dell’Assunta) was constructed in the period of time between 1515 - 1570by Leonhard von Völs. His main aim was to build a higher, larger and more mighty church steeple than the one of the neighbouring village of Castelrotto, and he succeeded. Only when the inhabitants of Castelrotto built a new, sovereign steeple of almost 90 metres, Fiè allo Sciliar could no longer compete.
After a fire in the roof of the steeple at the beginning of the 18th century, however, it had to be renewed. The new octagonal steeple was topped with an onion-domed roof. Also the interior boasts numerable testimonies of the Baroque and rococo period.